Non Violence

The idea that one believes in justification for violence towards another is not found in the principles of Jesus.  An appropriate study of God’s word can lead to only one conclusion: one is never justified in being evil to another, ie: killing, harming. My belief is that most Christians have not diligently studied this issue and they are simply following the majority view among churches. Justifiable violence is taught and accepted in most churches. My biggest question at the moment is how did we as “Christians” get to this point? How did this belief become so predominant when the scriptures are so clear?
 
Well, it was only a few years back that I too thought nothing of a christian being justified in certain situations to act evil towards someone. This is what I was taught. I believed as a man it was my obligation to kill someone who would harm my family. Only after much study did I come to a better view of how I should treat people. I’m coming to this belief in my late 20’s, early 30’s. Why are so many people much older than me, claiming to be faithful Christians, not studying or understanding God’s message of love?
 
The biggest issue I have with others is disappointment, why don’t they see what I see. Let me say however, I genuinely do not look down on others. I am all to familiar with my own ignorance, fallacies, and sin. I know God’s grace towards me goes only as far as my grace towards others. I’m just disappointed in the church that non-violence is not talked about more. How we treat others (repaying evil with good) is the foundation of practical Christianity, it is the essence of Jesus. He undeservedly died for us while we were His enemy! I don’t like the idea of “turning the other cheek”, inside me is a strong desire to retaliate when harm is done to me or others yet; this is what Jesus was about. As a follower of Christ (Christian) this is what my life should be about.
 
I’m sure if you are at all interested in this issue then you have read discussion on both sides. I don’t have the ability that others have to effectively articulate an idea however; for my blog I will try to explain what I see God telling us through Jesus.
 
Matthew 5:38-48, Luke 6:27-36
Several examples or situations are given. What is the underlying point?  They all are describing what our attitude and reaction should be when we’re not treated right. Seams so clear, how can someone dispute or dismiss these scriptures? Yet I’ve talked with people who try.
 
In regards to examples of God’s people fighting and killing as described in the Old Testament:
Galatians 3:23-29, Matthew 17:1-5
We follow Jesus, not Moses nor the prophets. If we did then we would be Jewish, not Christian. If someone is to follow one command or example from the old covenant then they should follow all. Even in the previous scripture cited, Matthew 5:38-48, Jesus is quoting the old covenant and using it to explain something NEW. “An eye for an eye” according to Jesus is no longer the law, nor the way to conduct oneself.
 
There are numerous other scriptures of which speak to the same principle. I’m assuming that who reads this is very familiar with arguments from both sides. My purpose is to encourage those reading this to diligently study God’s word without prejudice and let it speak to you for the purpose of finding the TRUTH.
 
Colossians 1:9-10 “increasing in the knowledge of God”
Romans 12:14-21
John 18:36
2 Corinthians 10:3-4
Ephesians 6:10-17
Matthew 7:12
Matthew 18:21-35
Acts 16:22-34
Acts 7:1-60
Philippians 2:3
1 Corinthians 6:7
Luke 23:33-34
Leave a Reply

